Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

yellow (by Coldplay)

true cover #2 - dedicated to Clara

True Covers: For me, a “true cover” is a song that I love enough to revise: I alter the lyrics so that it feels more true to me. When I sing something repeatedly, I want to make sure I’m sending out vibrations that are in full alignment with who I am becoming. (“True Covers” also sounds like “True Colors;” shout out to the luminous Cyndi Lauper.)

The original: The seed of this song came to Coldplay lead singer Chris Martin when the band was in South Wales, stargazing during a nighttime break as they recorded their first album (check out more about the song in this Wikipedia article).

Dedication: This true cover goes out to the incredible Clara Gaudette, our Survivor Services Coordinator at Jeanne Geiger. I say much more about Clara after I sing through my cover of the song. Clara exemplifies courage, compassion, and Universal Mother energy that provides a space where healing is possible. I offer this song with deep gratitude to Clara and to each person who dares to access the limitless love and healing potential available to us.

Note: I give Sherri Mitchell-Weh’na Ha’mu Kwasset (She Who Brings the Light)-another shout-out today; so grateful for the Wabanaki understandings/languaging of spiritual warriorship that she describes in her book Sacred Instructions.

Discussion about this podcast