Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

before it's over (from Dogfight)

true cover #3 - dedicated to Kelly, Rosie & Kelly

True Covers: For me, a “true cover” is a song that I love enough to revise: I alter the lyrics so that it feels more true to me. When I sing something repeatedly, I want to make sure I’m sending out vibrations that are in full alignment with who I am becoming. (“True Covers” also sounds like “True Colors;” shout out to the luminous Cyndi Lauper.)

The original: This song is from the 2012 musical Dogfight, which is based on the 1991 film by the same title; it’s composed by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul. I changed the lyrics of the first half significantly.

Dedication: This true cover goes out to three incredible women who served as advocates at Jeanne Geiger, Kelly Coffey, Rosie Pagerey, and Kelly Surette. I highly recommend checking out Kelly Coffey’s marvelous comedy podcast Bitter Coffey.

Note: If you’re interested in learning more about my “Walk for Aloha” team for Jeanne Geiger’s Walk Against Domestic Violence on October 6th, check out this link.

Discussion about this podcast